Welcome to TAMIN

The Texas A&M Institute for Neuroscience (TAMIN) is a multidisciplinary program created in 2009 between Texas A&M University (TAMU) and the Texas A&M University Health Science Center (TAMHSC). TAMIN consists of a highly collegial and interactive faculty with research interests in neuroscience. TAMIN provides an organizational structure that strengthens interdisciplinary and collaborative research, enhances scholarship and research funding, promotes national visibility, promotes postdoctoral and graduate training, and offers undergraduates unique training opportunities within the area of neuroscience.

Within TAMIN there is a strong teaching commitment with the PhD degree program in Neuroscience (NRSC) and undergraduate minor in Neuroscience. TAMIN has a weekly seminar series and annual symposium.

Texas A&M University provides a unique environment for collaboration among scientists studying different areas of neuroscience in eight colleges (Agriculture, Architecture, Education, Engineering, Liberal Arts, Medicine, Science and Veterinary Medicine).  Research by the faculty of neuroscience at TAMU/TAMHSC range from basic neuroscience to translational research aimed at developing therapies for neurological conditions including Alzheimer’s disease, ataxia telengiectasia, autism, cerebral palsy, depression, drug addiction, fetal alcohol syndrome, epilepsy, hereditary rat neuronal system degeneration, meningoencephalomyelitis, multiple sclerosis, neurofibromatosis, neuromuscular diseases, Parkinson’s disease, spinal cord injury, stress disorders and tumors of the nervous system.

C. Jane Welsh, PhD
Chair, Texas A&M Institute for Neuroscience
Texas A&M University

TAMIN Administration & Contact Page